Pleasant Island

Pleasant Island

  • Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO (Belgien)
06.November  17:30 - 18:40
Schaubühne Lindenfels
07.November  15:30 - 16:40
Schaubühne Lindenfels

    Nauru is a small island nation in the Pacific Ocean that was christened Pleasant Island by European explorers. The history of this “pleasant island” – which was under the protectorate of the German Empire from 1888 until World War I – is often seen as a parable for our world today. Nauru has been hit hard by the effects of colonization, capitalism, migration and ecological disaster. After the discovery of vast phosphate deposits, the microstate briefly became one of the richest countries in the world. Every bit of land was stripped down to the last corner and sold all over the world as fertilizer for agriculture. After plundering its natural resources, the island was left in economic and environmental ruins. Today, in order to survive, the government accepts unwelcome asylum seekers from Australia in exchange for financial compensation and houses them in detention centers.

    Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere have traveled to Nauru for their field research. In this post-apocalyptic environment they have tried to capture the historical, ecological and humanitarian exhaustion of the island. Due to the threat of reprisals, they went without camera equipment and discreetly recorded their interviews with cell phones. The aesthetics of the smartphone also dominate what takes place on stage and make PLEASANT ISLAND an extraordinary and moving documentary theater piece.

    www.campo.nu | www.silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

    After the performance on 7. November 7, there will be an audience discussion with the artists.

    Tickets

    22/ 11 euros

    By and with Silke Huysmans, Hannes Dereere Dramaturgy Dries Douibi Technicians Anne Meeussen, Piet Depoortere Sound mix Lieven Dousselaere Photos Ilse Philips, Vlad Sokhin, Nuno Direitinho Production CAMPO Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House For Performance, Spielart & De Brakke Grond residencies Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum Buda, Kunst-enwerkplaats Pianofabriek, STUK & Veem House for Performance, LOD with the support of Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie & KAAP

    Advance ticket sales

    Advance ticket sales for euro-scene Leipzig begin on 11. October!

    Venue

    Schaubühen Lindenfels
    Karl-Heine-Straße 50
    04229 Leipzig

    Tel. 0341-48 46 20
    www.schaubuehne.com

Pleasant Island

Pleasant Island

  • Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere / CAMPO (Belgien)
06.November  17:30 - 18:40
Schaubühne Lindenfels
07.November  15:30 - 16:40
Schaubühne Lindenfels
  • Theater

Nauru ist ein kleiner Inselstaat im Pazifik, der von europäischen Entdeckern Pleasant Island getauft wurde. Die Geschichte dieser „angenehmen Insel“ – die von 1888 bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg unter dem Protektorat des Deutschen Kaiserreiches stand – wird oft als Gleichnis auf unsere heutige Welt gesehen. Nauru wurde von den Auswirkungen der Kolonialisierung, des Kapitalismus, der Migration und der ökologischen Katastrophe schwer getroffen. Nach der Entdeckung riesiger Phosphatvorkommen wurde der Zwergstaat kurzzeitig zu einem der reichsten Länder der Welt. Jedes Fleckchen Land wurde bis in die letzte Ecke abgetragen und als Dünger für die Landwirtschaft in die ganze Welt verkauft. Nach der Plünderung ihrer natürlichen Ressourcen wurde die Insel in ökonomischen und ökologischen Trümmern hinterlassen. Um zu überleben, nimmt die Regierung heute gegen finanzielle Kompensationen unliebsame Asylbewerber:innen aus Australien auf und beherbergt diese in Gefangenenlagern.

Silke Huysmans und Hannes Dereere sind für ihre Feldforschung nach Nauru gereist. In dieser post-apokalyptischen Umgebung versuchen sie, die historische, ökologische und humanitäre Erschöpfung der Insel einzufangen. Wegen drohender Repressalien haben sie auf Kameraequipment verzichtet und ihre Interviews diskret mit dem Mobiltelefon aufgezeichnet. Die Ästhetik des Smartphones beherrscht auch das Bühnengeschehen und macht PLEASANT ISLAND zu einem außergewöhnlichen und bewegenden Dokumentartheaterstück.

www.campo.nu | www.silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

Anschließend an die Aufführung am 7. November findet ein Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstler:innen statt. Moderation: Dr. Veronika Darian.

Tickets

22/ 11 Euro

Von und mit Silke Huysmans, Hannes Dereere Dramaturgie Dries Douibi Technik Anne Meeussen, Piet Depoortere Tonabmischung Lieven Dousselaere Fotos Ilse Philips, Vlad Sokhin, Nuno Direitinho Produktion CAMPO Koproduktion Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House For Performance, Spielart & De Brakke Grond residencies Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum Buda, Kunst-enwerkplaats Pianofabriek, STUK & Veem House for Performance, LOD with the support of Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie & KAAP

Ticket Vorverkauf

Vorverkaufsbeginn am 11. Oktober! Bitte beachten Sie das Hygiene-
und Schutzkonzept der
Schaubühne Lindenfels
!

Veranstaltungsort

Schaubühen Lindenfels
Karl-Heine-Straße 50
04229 Leipzig

Tel. 0341-48 46 20
www.schaubuehne.com