Ruins + Hope Hunt & The Ascension Into Lazarus

Ruins + Hope Hunt & The Ascension Into Lazarus

  • FUBUNATION (Großbritannien) + Oona Doherty (Irland)
06.November  21:30 - 23:00
Schauspielhaus / Diskothek
07.November  17:30 - 19:00
Schauspielhaus / Diskothek

    DOUBLE BILL DANCE EVENING

    RUINS (German premiere)

    The duo RUINS (debris), consisting of the two dancers Rhys Dennis and Waddah Sinada, opens a dialogue about the myth of masculinity as it is perceived in the Pan-African Diaspora. They address a trauma that has developed in the black community for generations through exclusion and marginalization and continues to be passed on today. Relationships within the community are in a shambles in many cases, but the soulful intimacy of the two dancers shows that it is possible to leave the past behind and discard or repair old patterns in order to shape the future.

    FUBUNATION is an interdisciplinary London-based collective founded in 2017 by Rhys Dennis and Waddah Sinada with the aim of bringing more visibility and representation of black culture to contemporary dance. Their movement language combines forms of contact improvisation with influences from hip hop and African dance styles.

     

    www.fubunation.org

     

    followed by

     

    HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS

    Doherty was awarded the Silver Lion at the Venice Dance Biennale this year in July. At euro-scene Leipzig, the young artist from Ireland will show her masterpiece HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS, the extremely energetic choreography taking place among the lower social classes in her native Belfast. Violence and vulnerability, outbursts of rage and boredom are always close together, and the choreographer weaves them together in a complex portrait of class and gender. Belfast is everywhere.

    Oona Doherty was named in the Irish Times Top 10 List of Irish Artists in 2017. In the same year, she choreographed her first group piece HARD TO BE SOFT – A BELFAST PRAYER, for which she was awarded Best Dance Performance of the Year by the British newspaper The Guardian in 2019. From 2020 to 2022, she will be Artist in Residence at the Dublin Dance Festival.

    www.oonadohertyweb.com

    The meeting with the artists at the bar has to be cancelled due to Corona regulations!

    Tickets

    22/ 11 euros

    RUINS
    Choreography + performance Rhys Dennis & Waddah Sinada Sound design Sam Nunez Lighting Jonathan Samuels Foto Amelia Lancaster, Donnie Sunshine, Ton van Til Creative producer Steph Be Production Steph Be Support Arts Council England, Roundhouse, Irie Dance Theatre, Talawa Theatre, Dance 4, Serendipity, Aerowaves

     

    HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS
    Choreography Oona Doherty Dancer Sati Veyrunes DJ + car driver Fia Nyhan Kavanagh Lighting John Gunning Photo Chad Alexander Production Gabrielle Veyssiere Support Dance Resource Base, Ar t Coucil of Nor thern Ireland, The MAC Theatre – Belfast, Cathedral Quar ter Ar ts Festival, Bristish Council, Prime Cuts Production

    Advance ticket sales

    Advance ticket sales for euro-scene Leipzig begin on 11. October!

    Venue

    Schauspielhaus / Diskothek
    Bosestraße 1
    04109 Leipzig

    Tel. 0341-12 68 168
    www.schauspiel-leipzig.de

Ruins + Hope Hunt & The Ascension Into Lazarus

Ruins + Hope Hunt & The Ascension Into Lazarus

  • FUBUNATION (Großbritannien) + Oona Doherty (Irland)
06.November  21:30 - 23:00
Schauspielhaus / Diskothek
07.November  17:30 - 19:00
Schauspielhaus / Diskothek
  • Tanz

DOPPEL-TANZABEND

RUINS (Deutschlandpremiere)

Das Duo RUINS (Trümmer) der beiden Tänzer Rhys Dennis und Waddah Sinada eröffnet einen Dialog über den Mythos der Männlichkeit, wie er in der panafrikanischen Diaspora empfunden wird. Sie thematisieren ein Trauma, das in der schwarzen Community seit Generationen durch Ausgrenzung und Marginalisierung entstanden ist und sich auch heute noch weitervererbt. Die Beziehungen untereinander liegen zwar vielfach in Trümmern, aber die gefühlvolle Vertrautheit der beiden Tänzer zeigt, dass es möglich ist, die Vergangenheit hinter sich zu lassen und alte Muster abzuwerfen oder zu reparieren, um die Zukunft zu gestalten.

FUBUNATION ist ein interdisziplinäres Londoner Kollektiv, das 2017 von Rhys Dennis und Waddah Sinada mit der Vision gegründet wurde, mehr Sichtbarkeit und Repräsentation der schwarzen Kultur in den zeitgenössischen Tanz zu bringen. Ihre Bewegungssprache verbindet Formen der Kontaktimprovisation mit Einflüssen aus Hip Hop und afrikanischen Tanzstilen.

www.fubunation.org

 
anschließend
 
 HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS

Doherty wurde dieses Jahr im Juli mit dem Silbernen Löwen auf der Tanzbiennale in Venedig ausgezeichnet. Bei der euro-scene Leipzig zeigt die junge Künstlerin aus Irland ihr Meisterwerk HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS (Jagd nach Hoffnung & der Aufstieg des Lazarus), eine extrem energiegeladene Choreografie über die unteren sozialen Schichten in ihrer Heimat Belfast. Gewalt und Verwundbarkeit, Wut-ausbrüche und Langeweile liegen stets eng beieinander und werden von der Choreografin vielschichtig verknüpft und zu einem komplexen Portrait über Klasse und Ge-schlecht zusammengefügt. Belfast ist überall.

Oona Doherty wurde 2017 von der Irish Times in die Top-10-Liste der irischen Künstler:innen gewählt. Im gleichen Jahr choreografierte sie ihr erstes Gruppen-stück HARD TO BE SOFT – A BELFAST PRAYER, wofür sie von der britischen Zeitung The Guardian im Jahr 2019 als beste Tanzvorstellung des Jahres ausgezeichnet wurde. Von 2020 bis 2022 ist sie Artist in Residence des Dublin Dance Festival.

www.oonadohertyweb.com

Bleiben Sie und treffen Sie die Künstler:innen an der Bar! Bitte beachten Sie die aktuellen Informationen dazu auf www.euro-scene.de.

Tickets

22/ 11 Euro

RUINS
Choreografie + Performance Rhys Dennis & Waddah Sinada Sound Design Sam Nunez Licht Jonathan Samuels Foto Amelia Lancaster, Donnie Sunshine, Ton van Til Creative Producer Steph Be Produktion Steph Be Förderer Arts Council England, Roundhouse, Irie Dance Theatre, Talawa Theatre, Dance 4, Serendipity, Aerowaves


HOPE HUNT & THE ASCENSION INTO LAZARUS
Choreografie Oona Doherty Tänzerin Sati Veyrunes DJ + Autofahrerin Fia Nyhan Kavanagh Licht John Gunning Foto Chad Alexander Produktion Gabrielle Veyssiere Förderer Dance Resource Base, Ar t Coucil of Nor thern Ireland, The MAC Theatre – Belfast, Cathedral Quar ter Ar ts Festival, Bristish Council, Prime Cuts Production

Ticket Vorverkauf

Vorverkaufsbeginn am 11. Oktober! Bitte beachten Sie das Hygiene-
und Schutzkonzept des Schauspiel Leipzig
!

Veranstaltungsort

Schauspielhaus / Diskothek
Bosestraße 1
04109 Leipzig

Tel. 0341-12 68 168
www.schauspiel-leipzig.de