30th Festival 2020

Main programme

Thursday, 05. November 2020 // 7.30 – 8.30 p.m.

From 14 years

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

Standard price 22,00 €


Compagnie Alias,
Geneva

SWITZERLAND

»Sideways rain«   VIDEO CLIP  

Dance piece



Conception and choreography: Guilherme Botelho

Music: Murcof (Fernando Corona)

Scenery: Guilherme Botelho, Gilles Lambert, Stefanie Liniger

Costumes: Marion Schmid, Julia Hansen

Light design: Jean-Philippe Roy

Dancers: Arnaud Bacharach, Alexandre Bibia, Louis Bourel, Veronica Bozzano, Erica Bravini, Adriano Coletta, Natalie Farkas, Veronica Garcia, Victoria Hoyland, Erik Lobelius, Aurélien Peillex, Sophia Preidel, Linn Ragnarsson, Claire-Marie Reot-Ricarte

After the performance the City of Leipzig International Caroline Neuber Scholarship will be awarded.



Fourteen dancers cross the stage, over and over, tirelessly, continuously, infinitely. In the beginning, they crawl like prehistoric creatures and slowly rise up; they walk, run, fall, stand up again, run, stop and start over from the beginning, compelled by an inexplicable drive to move, caught in the cycle of things and the longing to make progress.

The dance piece »Sideways rain« is a physical metaphor of life. On the journey through a universe of light and spherical music, complex questions are posed about human development. A choreography full of visual power and strong suction effects is created from the repetition of patterns and constant acceleration in rhythm. The physical phenomenon of sideways rain in nature serves as a synonym for a forward flowing, uncontrollable and also mysterious power.

Guilherme Botelho, born in Sao Paolo / Brazil in 1962, started his dance education at age 16 and was engaged at the Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève in 1982. In 1987, he created his first own choreography. In 1994, he founded the Compagnie Alias, for which he has developed approximately 30 pieces. His most recent choreographies include »contre-mondes« (»controverse-worlds«, 2017), »Normal.« (2018) and »in C« (2020). His works have won multiple awards. »Sideways rain« is one of the most thrilling, hypnotic and fascinating choreographies of the last ten years; it was invited to all important festivals throughout Europe. At euro-scene Leipzig it was shown in 2011 and can now

once again be experienced with a new generation of dancers.


World première: 03.09.2010, La Bâtie, Festival de Genève, Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Geneva

www.alias-cie.com

Production: Compagnie Alias

Coproduction: La Bâtie, Festival de Genève / Théâtre du Crochetan, Monthey / Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Geneva

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Pro Helvetia – swiss arts council, Zurich, and the Embassy of Switzerland in Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin.

30. Festival 2020

Hauptprogramm

Donnerstag, 05. November 2020 // 19.30 – 20.30 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

Einheitspreis 22,00 €


Compagnie Alias,
Genf

SCHWEIZ

»Sideways rain«
(»Regen seitwärts«)
  VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Tanzstück



Konzeption und Choreografie: Guilherme Botelho

Komposition: Murcof (Fernando Corona)

Bühnenbild: Guilherme Botelho, Gilles Lambert, Stefanie Liniger

Kostüme: Marion Schmid, Julia Hansen

Lichtdesign: Jean-Philippe Roy

Tänzerinnen und Tänzer: Arnaud Bacharach, Alexandre Bibia, Louis Bourel, Veronica Bozzano, Erica Bravini, Adriano Coletta, Natalie Farkas, Veronica Garcia, Victoria Hoyland, Erik Lobelius, Sophia Preidel, Linn Ragnarsson, Claire-Marie Reot-Ricarte, Gabriel Simoes

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung findet die Verleihung des Internationalen Caroline-Neuber-Stipendiums der Stadt Leipzig statt.



Immer wieder durchqueren 14 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer die Bühne, unermüdlich, ununterbrochen, unendlich. Am Anfang kriechend wie die Urtiere, erheben sie sich langsam, sie gehen, laufen, fallen, stehen auf, laufen, bleiben stehen und beginnen wieder von vorn, gefangen im Kreislauf der Dinge und in der Sehnsucht nach Weiterkommen.

Das Tanzstück »Sideways rain« ist eine physische Metapher des Lebens. Auf dem Weg durch ein Universum aus Licht und sphärischer Musik stellen sich komplexe Fragen nach der Entwicklung des Menschen. Aus der Wiederholung von Mustern und der stetigen Beschleunigung des Rhythmus entsteht eine Choreografie voller visueller Kraft und starker Sogwirkung. Das physikalische Phänomen des Regens von der Seite in der Natur gibt als Synonym eine vorwärts strömende, unkontrollierbare und auch geheimnisvolle Energie vor.

Guilherme Botelho, 1962 in São Paulo / Brasilien geboren, begann mit 16 Jahren seine Tanzausbildung und wurde 1982 am Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève engagiert. 1987 schuf er seine erste eigene Choreografie. Er gründete 1994 die Compagnie Alias, für die er bisher rund 30 Stücke entwickelt hat. Zu seinen letzten Choreografien gehören »contre-mondes« (»Gegenwelten«, 2017), »Normal.« (2018) und »in C« (2020). Seine Arbeiten wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. »Sideways rain« ist eine der berauschendsten, hypnotischsten und faszinierendsten Choreografien der letzten zehn Jahre und gastierte auf allen wichtigen Festivals in ganz Europa. Bei der euro-scene Leipzig war das Stück 2011 zu sehen und ist nun mit einer neuen Tänzergeneration hier noch einmal zu erleben.


Uraufführung: 03.09.2010, La Bâtie, Festival de Genève, Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Genf

www.alias-cie.com

Produktion: Compagnie Alias

Koproduktion: La Bâtie, Festival de Genève / Théâtre du Crochetan, Monthey / Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Genf

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Pro Helvetia – Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Zürich, und Schweizerische Botschaft in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Berlin.