30th Festival 2020

Main programme

Friday, 06. November 2020 // 7.30 – 8.30 p.m.

From 14 years

Saturday, 07. November 2020 // 7.30 – 8.30 p.m.

Theater der Jungen Welt / Großer Saal

Standard price 18,00 €


Pierre Rigal / Compagnie dernière minute,
Toulouse

FRANCE

»Press«   VIDEO CLIP  

Dance piece



Conception, choreography and scenery: Pierre Rigal

Music: Nihil Bordures

Light design: Frédéric Stoll

Dancer: Pierre Rigal

Guitarist: George Dyson



A man, in a black suit, in a space, a kind of box, with a chair. The space – at first, imperceptibly – gets smaller and smaller. The man can still stand and resist the pressure from outside. The box continues to shrink; the man tries to adapt, squatting, later lying down. Just like a Kafka character, he searches for a way out in vain.

The solo »Press« by Pierre Rigal premiered in 2008 and has attained cult status since then. It was shown throughout France and at all important festivals in Europe. The piece is melancholic, highly exciting, funny and dramatic simultaneously. Many signs of the times can be associated here: pressure to perform, artificial intelligence, interaction between people and machines, surveillance. As a metaphor, the solo stands for the fight for existence, loneliness, but also for

an adaptability in society up to a certain expected-unexpected end …

Pierre Rigal was born in Moissac, southern France, in 1973. He studied mathematic economics in Toulouse and practiced track and field in parallel. At the age of 23, he discovered dance and worked with numerous choreographers, among them Gilles Jobin. In 2003, he founded the Compagnie dernière minute in Toulouse, for which he created many pieces, »Asphalte« (2009) and »Standards« (2012), among others. For l’Opéra de Paris, he created the children’s piece »Merveille« (»Wonder«, 2018). In 2018, Pierre Rigal was a guest at euro-scene Leipzig with »Scandale« (2017).


World première: 15.02.2008, Gate Theatre, London

www.pierrerigal.net

Production: Compagnie dernière minute / Gate Theatre, London

Koproduktion: Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis, Bagnolet / Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Sparkasse Leipzig and Institut français, Berlin & Französisches Ministerium für Kultur – DGCA, Paris.

30. Festival 2020

Hauptprogramm

Freitag, 06. November 2020 // 19.30 – 20.30 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Samstag, 07. November 2020 // 19.30 – 20.30 Uhr

Theater der Jungen Welt / Großer Saal

Einheitspreis 18,00 €


Pierre Rigal / Compagnie dernière minute,
Toulouse

FRANKREICH

»Press«
(»Druck«)
  VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Tanzstück



Konzeption, Choreografie und Bühnenbild: Pierre Rigal

Musik: Nihil Bordures

Lichtdesign: Frédéric Stoll

Tänzer: Pierre Rigal

Gitarrist: George Dyson



Ein Mann, im schwarzen Anzug, in einem Raum, eine Art Box, mit einem Stuhl. Der Raum wird, zunächst unmerklich, nach und nach immer kleiner. Noch kann der Mann stehen und dem Druck von außen entgegenwirken. Die Box schrumpft immer mehr, der Mann versucht sich anzupassen, hockend, später liegend. Wie eine Figur von Kafka sucht er vergeblich den Weg nach draußen.

Das Solo »Press« von Pierre Rigal wurde 2008 uraufgeführt und genießt seitdem Kultstatus. Es wurde in ganz Frankreich und auf allen wichtigen Festivals Europas gezeigt. Das Stück ist melancholisch, hoch spannend, witzig und dramatisch zugleich. Viele Zeichen der Zeit lassen sich assoziieren: Leistungsdruck, künstliche Intelligenz, Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine, Überwachung. Als Metapher steht das Solo für Lebenskampf, Einsamkeit, aber auch für Anpassungsfähigkeit in der Gesellschaft bis hin zum erwartet-unerwarteten Ende …

Pierre Rigal wurde 1973 im südfranzösischen Moissac geboren. Er studierte Mathematische Ökonomie in Toulouse und praktizierte parallel dazu Leichtathletik. Im Alter von 23 Jahren fand er zum Tanz und arbeitete mit zahlreichen Choreografen, u. a. Gilles Jobin, zusammen. 2003 gründete er die Compagnie dernière minute in Toulouse, für die er zahlreiche Stücke, u. a. »Asphalte« (2009) und »Standards« (2012), schuf. Für die Pariser Oper entstand das Kinderstück »Merveille« (»Wunder«, 2018). Pierre Rigal gastierte 2018 mit »Scandale« (»Stolperfallen«, 2017) erstmals bei der euro-scene Leipzig.


Uraufführung: 15.02.2008, Gate Theatre, London_x005Fwww.pierrerigal.net

www.pierrerigal.net

Produktion: Compagnie dernière minute / Gate Theatre, London

Koproduktion: Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis, Bagnolet / Théâtre Garonne, Toulouse

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Sparkasse Leipzig und Institut français, Berlin & Französisches Ministerium für Kultur – DGCA, Paris.