30th Festival 2020

Main programme

Saturday, 07. November 2020 // 5.00 – 6.30 p.m.

From 14 years

Sunday, 08. November 2020 // 5.00 – 6.30 p.m.

Schauspielhaus / Diskothek

Standard price 18,00 €


Schubert Theater,
Vienna

AUSTRIA

»Was geschah mit Baby Jane?«
(»What happened to Baby Jane?«)
  VIDEO CLIP  

Theatre play with puppets



Conception, puppets and staging: Nikolaus Habjan

Puppet building: Nikolaus Habjan, Marianne Meinl

Text version: Manuela Linshalm

Costumes: Lisa Zingerle

Light design: Simon Meusburger

Actress and puppetry: Manuela Linshalm



The two sisters Jane and Blanche Hudson have been living in complete isolation in a Hollywood villa for years. Around 1917, Jane Hudson was a celebrated child star with the stage name Baby Jane. However, Jane never made the jump into an adult career. While she is stagnating, her sister Blanche is rising to become a star in the cinematic heavens. But at the zenith of her career, Blanche has a mysterious car accident that keeps her bound to a wheelchair …

The piece is based on the novel »What ever happened to Baby Jane?« by Henry Farrell (1960). It became famous with the screen adaptation by Robert Aldrich with Bette Davis and Joan Crawford in 1962. Nikolaus Habjan transformed the material into a puppet theatre thriller and addresses such issues as losing a sense of reality, love and hate as well as guilt and responsibility.

Manuela Linshalm was born in Vienna in 1976 and completed an education programme in acting at the Franz Schubert Konservatorium. She took instruction in song and dance; she has been learning puppeteering with Nikolaus Habjan since 2008 and with Neville Tranter in 2012. She has performed at the Akademietheater Wien, Theater an der Wien and Residenztheater München, and works regularly with Nikolaus Habjan as a puppeteer.

Nikolaus Habjan, born in Graz in 1987, is one of the most interesting and multifaceted artists of his generation in Austria. As a director, actor, puppet builder and puppeteer, he has worked at the Schauspielhaus Graz and Burgtheater Wien, among others, but also as an opera director at the Bayerische Staatsoper München, at the Theater an der Wien and the Oper Dortmund. After his guest performances at euro-scene Leipzig since 2016, he is once again present with numerous pieces this year.


World première: 17.02.2013, Schubert Theater, Vienna

www.schuberttheater.at

www.nikolaushabjan.com

Production: Schubert Theater

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Österreichisches Kulturforum Berlin.

[LOGO Österreichisches Kulturforum Berlin]

30. Festival 2020

Hauptprogramm

Samstag, 07. November 2020 // 17.00 – 18.30 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Sonntag, 08. November 2020 // 17.00 – 18.30 Uhr

Schauspielhaus / Diskothek

Einheitspreis 18,00 €


Schubert Theater,
Wien

ÖSTERREICH

»Was geschah mit Baby Jane?«   VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Theaterstück mit Puppen



Konzeption, Puppen und Inszenierung: Nikolaus Habjan

Puppenbau: Nikolaus Habjan, Marianne Meinl

Textfassung: Manuela Linshalm

Kostüme: Lisa Zingerle

Lichtdesign: Simon Meusburger

Darstellerin und Puppenspiel: Manuela Linshalm



Die beiden Schwestern Jane und Blanche Hudson leben seit Jahren völlig zurückgezogen

in einer Villa in Hollywood. Um 1917 ist Jane Hudson unter dem Künstlernamen Baby Jane ein gefeierter Kinderstar. Jane schafft jedoch nicht den Sprung ins Erwachsenenfach und während ihre eigene Karriere schwindet, steigt ihre Schwester Blanche zum Stern am Filmhimmel auf. Doch auf dem Zenit ihrer Karriere erleidet Blanche einen mysteriösen Autounfall, der sie an den Rollstuhl fesselt …

Das Stück beruht auf dem Roman »What ever happened to Baby Jane?« (»Was geschah wirklich mit Baby Jane?«) von Henry Farrell (1960). Es wurde vor allem durch die Verfilmung von Robert Aldrich 1962 mit Bette Davis und Joan Crawford berühmt. Nikolaus Habjan transformierte den Stoff zum Puppentheater-Thriller und widmet sich hier vor allem Themen wie Realitätsverlust, Liebe und Hass sowie Schuld und Verantwortung.

Manuela Linshalm wurde 1976 in Wien geboren und absolvierte eine Schauspielausbildung am Franz Schubert Konservatorium. Sie nahm Unterricht in Gesang und Tanz, das Puppenspiel erlernte sie seit 2008 bei Nikolaus Habjan und 2012 bei Neville Tranter. Sie spielt u. a. am Akademietheater Wien, Theater an der Wien und Residenztheater München und arbeitet als Puppenspielerin regelmäßig mit Nikolaus Habjan zusammen.

Nikolaus Habjan, geboren 1987 in Graz, ist einer der interessantesten und vielseitigsten Künstler seiner Generation in Österreich. Als Regisseur, Schauspieler, Puppenbauer und -spieler arbeitet er u. a. am Schauspielhaus Graz und Burgtheater Wien sowie als Opernregisseur an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München, am Theater an der Wien und an der Oper Dortmund. Nach seinen Gastspielen bei der euro-scene Leipzig seit 2016 ist er in diesem Jahr wiederum mit mehreren Stücken zu sehen.


Uraufführung: 17.02.2013, Schubert Theater, Wien

www.schuberttheater.at

www.nikolaushabjan.com

Produktion: Schubert Theater

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Österreichische Kulturforum Berlin.

[LOGO Österreichisches Kulturforum Berlin]