Amores de Leste

Amores de Leste

  • Hotel Europa (Portugal)
04.November  17:30 - 19:00
Theater der Jungen Welt
05.November  19:30 - 21:00
Theater der Jungen Welt
  • Highlights
  • Theater

World premiere
With German surtitles

AMORES DE LESTE (Eastern Loves) is a euro-scene Leipzig coproduction with Culturgest in Lisbon und Theatre de la Ville in Paris. The piece addresses the lives of young Portuguese anti-fascist activists as well as citizens of Angola, Cape Verde, Mozambique and Guinea-Bissau who fought against the dictatorships and colonialism in their countries and for the founding of independent republics after the Carnation Revolution in 1974. To support their battle, they were invited to the ex-Eastern Bloc nations for vocational training or studies. In Leipzig, grants were awarded to them by the Herder-Institut.

What effect did these often multiyear residencies on the other side of the iron curtain have on their lives? Did their perspectives on communism change? A number of them left the Party after this experience.

Others remained communists. Some fell in love and started families. Many of these were torn apart by the fall of communism.

In June 2021, the Hotel Europa team spent a week in Leipzig for a research residency. They explored archives and collected witness statements from people who had lived through these events. A documentary theater piece was created that reflects contemporary history in personal love stories and investigates the interaction of love, family ties and world politics between Europe and Africa.

Hotel Europa is a theater company from Lisbon that is headed by Tereza Havlíčková, who was born in the Czech Republic and the Portuguese André Amálio.

There will be an artists’ talk after the two performances.

On 3. November we will show the film BECOMING BLACK at Passage Kinos.

Tickets

22/ 11 euros

Creation André Amálio + Tereza Havlíčková With André Amálio, Andreia Galvão, Beatrice Cordier, Celise Manuel, Jorge Cabral, Mbalango, Tereza Havlíčková Lighting + tehcnical director Joaquim Madaíl Stage Ana Paula Rocha Stage assistant Aurora dos Campos Photo Hotel Europa
Coproduction Culturgest (Lisbon, Portugal), Thêátre de la Ville (Paris, France), euro-scene Leipzig Support Fundo de Fomento Cultural, Internationalization support of  República Portuguesa-Ministério da Cultura / DG Artes.

Ticket Vorverkauf

Advance ticket sales for euro-scene Leipzig begin on 11. October!

Venue

Theater der Jungen Welt
Lindenauer Markt 21
04177 Leipzig

Tel. 0341-48 06 16
www.theaterderjungenweltleipzig.de

Amores de Leste

Amores de Leste

  • Hotel Europa (Portugal)
04.November  17:30 - 19:00
Theater der Jungen Welt
05.November  19:30 - 21:00
Theater der Jungen Welt
  • Highlights
  • Theater

Uraufführung
Mit deutscher Übertitelung

AMORES DE LESTE (Liebe im Osten) ist eine Koproduktion der euro-scene Leipzig mit Culturgest in Lissabon und Theatre de la Ville in Paris. Das Stück befasst sich mit dem Leben junger portugiesischer antifaschistischer Aktivist:innen sowie Staatsangehörigen aus Angola, Kap Verde, Mosambik und Guinea-Bissau, die gegen die Diktatur und den Kolonialismus in ihren Ländern und für den Aufbau von unabhängigen Republiken nach der Nelkenrevolution im Jahr 1974 kämpften. Zur Unterstützung in diesem Kampf wurden sie bis 1989 in den ehemaligen Ostblockstaaten für eine Ausbildung oder ein Studium aufgenommen. In Leipzig wurden dafür Stipendien vom Herder-Institut vergeben.

Welche Auswirkungen hatten diese manchmal mehrjährigen Aufenthalte auf der anderen Seite des Eisernen Vorhangs auf ihr Leben? Hat sich ihre Wahrnehmung des Kommunismus verändert? Einige verließen die Partei nach dieser Erfahrung.

Andere blieben Kommunist:innen. Einige gingen Liebesbeziehungen ein und gründeten Familien. Viele davon wurden durch den Zusammenbruch des Kommunismus zerrissen.

Im Juni 2021 war das Team von Hotel Europa eine Woche lang für eine Rechercheresidenz in Leipzig zu Besuch. Sie haben Archive durchforstet und Zeugenaussagen von Menschen gesammelt, die diese Situationen erlebt haben. Basierend darauf entsteht ein Dokumentartheater, das Zeitgeschichte in persönlichen Liebesgeschichten spiegelt und die Wechselwirkung von Liebe, Familienbanden und Weltpolitik zwischen Europa und Afrika untersucht.

Hotel Europa ist eine Theatercompagnie aus Lissabon, die von der in Tschechien geborenen Tereza Havlíčková und dem Portugiesen André Amálio geleitet wird.

www.hoteleuropateatro.com

Anschließend an beide Aufführungen findet ein Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstler:innen statt. Moderiert von Sithara Weeratunga, Agentin für Diversität am Museum der Bildenden Künste Leipzig.

Am 3. November zeigen wir den Film BECOMING BLACK in den Passage Kinos.

Tickets

22/ 11 Euro

Kreation André Amálio + Tereza Havlíčková Mit André Amálio, Andreia Galvão, Beatrice Cordier, Celise Manuel, Jorge Cabral, Mbalango, Tereza Havlíčková Regieassistenz Cheila Lima Licht + Technische Leitung Joaquim Madaíl Video Marta Salazar Bühnenbild Ana Paula Rocha Assistenz Bühnenbild Aurora dos Campos Foto Tom Dachs
Koproduktion Culturgest (Lisbon, Portugal), Thêátre de la Ville (Paris, France), euro-scene Leipzig Förderer Fundo de Fomento Cultural, Internationalization support of  República Portuguesa-Ministério da Cultura / DG Artes.

Ticket Vorverkauf

Veranstaltungsort

Theater der Jungen Welt
Lindenauer Markt 21
04177 Leipzig

Tel. 0341-48 06 16
www.theaterderjungenweltleipzig.de